2011 BreakOut West Nominees

BreakOut West (formerly known as The Western Canadian Music Awards) takes the opportunity to celebrate Western Canada’s artists but they also award the talent behind the scene (producers and agencies). It takes a lot of courage and patience to make your dreams come true out here in The West – but there is plenty to celebrate this year – especially when those celebrations are happening in Whitehorse, Yukon! I wish I could be there…

Looking at the nominee list this year, I’m pretty impressed by the number of Manitoban musicians that made the list; including the likes of Ridley Bent, Ash Koley, The Liptonians and Del Barber just to name a few. Good luck to all the nominees and for those attending you’re in for one helluva weekend!

Listed below are some of my choice categories for the complete list check out BreakOut West.

Blues Recording of the Year
Bill Johnson – Still Blue
Brent Parkin – Vintage Rhythm
Jim Byrnes – Everywhere West
Kat Danser – Passin’-A-Time
Little Miss Higgins – Across The Plains

Country Recording of the Year
Aaron Pritchett – In The Driver’s Seat
Gomie – You Are Here
Gord Bamford – Day Job
Hey Romeo – That’s What I Am
High Valley – High Valley
Ridley Bent – Rabbit On My Wheel

Pop Recording of the Year
Ash Koley – Inventions
David Vertesi – Cardiography
Imaginary Cities – Temporary Resident
Stef Lang – The Underdog
The Liptonians – Let’s All March Back Into the Sea

Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year
Evil Ebenezer – Evil Eye
Pigeon Hole – Age Like Astronauts
SonReal – Where’s Waldo?
Sweatshop Union – The Bill Murray EP
The Happy Unfortunate – No Time To Sleep

Rock Recording of the Year
Brasstronaut – Mount Chimaera
Jordan Cook – Seven Deadly Sins
Rah Rah – Breaking Hearts
The Pack a.d. – We Kill Computers
The Sheepdogs – Learn & Burn
We Are The City – High School
Wool on Wolves – Grey Matter

Roots Solo Recording of the Year
Del Barber – Love Songs For The Last Twenty
Jen Lane – For the Night
Kim Beggs – Blue Bones
Romi Mayes – Lucky Tonight
Ruth Moody – The Garden
Steve Dawson – Nightshade

World Recording of the Year
Cassius Khan – Mushtari a live concert
Matthew Lien and Yin-chung Huang – Orchid Island
Pacifika – Supermagique
Tambura Rasa – Adsum
Trio Bembe – Oh my soul

Independent Album of the Year
Chic Gamine – City City
Del Barber – Love Songs For The Last Twenty
Jordan Cook – Seven Deadly Sins
Rah Rah – Breaking Hearts
We Are The City – High School

Agency of the Year
Magnum Opus Management
Paquin Entertainment Group
S.L. Feldman & Associates

Producer of the Year
Arun Chaturvedi
Dave Ogilive
Steve Dawson
Tom Dobrzanski
Vince R. Ditrich

Engineer of the Year
Cameron Loeppky
Carlin Lemon
Doug Naugler
Sheldon Zaharko
Steve Dawson/Sheldon Zaharko


Posted on July 7, 2011, in News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: